Mental Applications

As most of you will have worked out by now, me and Facebook (FB) are BFFs.

As with all such relationships, there are certain things that my BFF does that annoy me. (I don’t annoy FB cos I’m perfect, obviously. [That, and it’s a website incapable of human emotion.])

Most of the annoyance comes from the optional extras such as games and other fancy widget-type things (Applications, or Apps for short) designed to make the whole FB experience more enjoyable, simpler, better in every way. *cough* Well, that’s the theory anyway.

I have, in the past, had many of the available Apps up and running, and for the most part have found them to be fun and entertaining, at least for a while. I have now whittled this down to a mere eight which I use regularly – often, even – plus a couple more that are there for as-and-when purposes.

In the past – and the recent past, at that – I have allowed myself to get rather wound up by the foibles of these Apps, and have ranted and raved accordingly. As of today, that stops.

Surely life is too short to get wound up about Apps which involve moving one set of pixels around on a larger set of pixels in order to gain further pixels representing some wonderful item or other which will make the future gameplay even better than it already is (or not, as the case may be).

There are whole blogs out there dedicated to the aforementioned ranting and raving about how certain Apps are currently annoying the user base, and why the developers are incompetent idiots (I’m paraphrasing here).

If you’re someone with the time and inclination to do that, then by all means go ahead. I, though, am not one of them (a single post doesn’t count, ok?), and as of now I am going to do my level best to just enjoy what the game gives me and to take the annoyances (for there will be many) in my stride. You have to take the rough with the smooth, and all that jazz.

Happy App-ing, everyone! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mental Applications

  1. ha, ha. Once I start realizing that an app is getting to me…I take it off my facebook. You’re right…life is too short to get upset about such silly things.

Leave a Reply

