Viva Voluptuous by Sarah Clark

Viva Voluptuous

Click above to see the book at Amazon

It seems somewhat harsh to bring hate in to a book review, but I’m afraid it has to be done.

I hated finishing this book.

This semi-autobiographical book is so fun and positive that it seems a shame to have to return to the negativity of the real world.

Ellie’s a plus-sized blogger but is feeling like a fraud because her curvy confidence is at an all-time low having just been dumped. Reading some nasty comments on a newspaper website gets her fired up to show the world that you don’t have to be skinny to be happy. She and her friends devise a plan to change the world. Meanwhile, Ellie seeks solace in Jamie, a gorgeous younger man with commitment issues. The campaign sees the girls dealing with PR disasters, the disasters of dating sites, and flash mobs. Is it enough to change the world, and to give Ellie her confidence back?

The three main female characters are all so strong and feisty in their different ways (although they each have their own demons to deal with too) that it makes you stop and wonder why we’re not ALL like that. And as for the kickass VV campaign, well I’m hoping to see the author develop this idea further in the real world. She’s already started, you know.

I really like the use of blog posts to fill out details of key moments, too. It works well, and reinforces the fact that the main character is a writer by profession, not just a world-changing heroine!

I’m sure I’m not going to be the only one who reads this book and finds themselves willing Ellie, Zoe and Lauren to succeed. Not just in their campaign, but in their personal lives too. And I’m not ashamed to admit I got a bit teary at the end of chapter 42.

If I had to pick one negative about the book it would be what, to me, feels like an overuse of pet names. (I don’t use them myself, and find them slightly cringe worthy, if I’m honest.) In the book, everyone calls everyone else by a variety of pet names all the time. I know there are people out there who do that, but I’d have preferred to see it a little less frequently here. It felt particularly out of place when used by Paul, Ellie’s platonic straight male friend. In my experience, straight men don’t call people “sweetie”. But, as I said at the top of this review, this book is semi-autobiographical, so if the real “Paul” does talk like that then fair enough!

Yes, the book is about being big, bold and beautiful, but I feel the themes of acceptance and trying to be happy with who you are despite all the social “rules” will appeal to everyone.

All in all, I really enjoyed Sarah Clark’s book, and hope to see more from her in the future.

VIVA VOLUPTUOUS!!

Click on the pic above to find VV on Amazon (available as paperback or for Kindle).

Leave a Reply

